president of india list,Qualification, Election, Vacancy, Powers of The President.

president of India list and power

president of India list, Qualification, Election, Vacancy, Powers of The President of the Republic of India —-

Important Facts
Dr. Rajendra Prasad
First President and also had the longest tenure (12 years).
Dr. S Radhakrishnan
Was also the first Vice-President of India.
Dr. Zakir Hessian
Shortest tenure, First Muslim President, First President die in office.
V V Giri
First acting President of India.
Justice M Hidayattullah
Was also the Chief Justice of India.
V V Giri
F Ali Ahmed
Died In Office.
BD Jatti
Acting President.
N Sanjeeva Reddy
Youngest President(64 years).
Giani Zail Singh
First Sikh President.
R Venkataraman
Oldest President (76 Years).
Dr. SD Sharma
KR Narayayan
First Dalit President.
Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam
The first scientist to become President
Mrs. Prativa Patil
The first woman to become President.
Pranab Mukherjee
25th July 2012- 25th July 2017
13th President of India and senior leader National Congress.
Article 52 provides the office of the President of India , The President is the head of the Indian State. He is the first citizen of Indiaand acts as the symbol of unity, integrity and solidarity of the nation.

Qualification of the president of india : —–

Under Aricle 58, a person to eligible for election as President should fulfill the following Qualifications
  • He should be a citizen of India.
  • Completed 35 years old.
  • Qualified for election as a member of the Lok Sabha.
  • He should not hold any offer of profit under the Union Government or any State Government or Any local authority or any other public authority.

Election of president of India (Article 54): —–

The President elected not directly by the people but by members of electoral college consisting of
  • The elected members of both the houses of Parliament.
  • The elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of the States and Union territories.
  • Nominated members do not participate in the election of the President.
  • When Assembly is dissolved, the members cease to be qualified to vote in the Presidential election.
  • All disputes regarding election of the president are adjudicated by the Supreme Court.
  • Security deposit for the nomination as president is rs 15000 in RBI.
( In the History of Presidential elections, V.V. Giri is the only person who won the election of the President as an independent candidate in 1969.
In July 1977, Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy was elected unopposed as no one else field nomination for the post of the President.)

Term of the president of india and Emoluments : —–

  • Under Article 56, the President shall hold office for a term of 5 years from the date on which he enters upon his office.
  • If the office fall vacant by resignation removal , death or otherwise , then election to fill the vacancy should be completed within 6 months from the date of the occurrence of such a vacancy. The newly elected President remains in office for a full term of 5 years from the date he assumes charge of his office.
  • Can give resignation to vice President before full-term.
  • Present Salary – Income tax free Rs 1,50,000/ month (including allowance & emoluments). The pension is 50% of the salary.

 Vacancy in the President’s Office : —–

  • Under Article 62 a vacancy in the President’s office can occur in any of the following ways—
  • On the expiry of his tenure of 5 years.
  • By his resignation.
  • On his removal by the process of impeachment.
  • By his death.
  • Otherwise – when he becomes disqualified to hold office or when his election is declared void.
  • To fill the vacancy should be completed with in 6 months.
( Only once in the History of India, justice M. Hidayatullah, Chief Justice of Supreme Court, discharged the duties of the President in 1969 and the second time being the Vice President of India in 1982.)

Powers Of The president of india : —–

Indian President Executive Powers

  • Appoints PM, ministers, chief Justice & Judges of Supreme Court & High Courts, chairman & members of UPSC, Comptroller and Auditor General, Attorney General, Chief Election Commissioner and other members of Election Commission, Governors. Members of finance Commission, Ambassadors, etc.
  • He directly administers the Union Territories through the It. Governor, Commissioner or Administrator.

 Indian President Legislative Powers

  • Can summon & prorogue the sessions of the 2 houses & can dissolve Lok Sabha.
  • Can address both the houses jointly/separately.
  • Addresses the first session after general elections and at the commencement of the first session of each year.
  • Can send messages to both the houses, whether with respect to a bill pending in the parliament or otherwise.
  • Nominates 12 members to Rajya Sabha.
  • Nominates 2 members of the Anglo-Indian community in Lok Sabha if they havenot received adequate representation.
  • When a Bill is sent to the President after it has been passed by the Parliament, he can:
    1. Give his assent to the bill, or
    2. Without his assent to the Bill, or
    3. Return the Bill (if it is not a Money Bill or a Constitutional Amendment Bill) for reconsideration of the Parliament, although only once.
  • President has the power to three type veto with respect to the Bills passed by the Parliament. 1) Absolute Veto 2) Suspense Veto 3) Pocket Veto.
  • Lays the report of the Comptroller and Auditor General, UPSC, the Finance Commission, and others, before the Parliament.

 Indian President Financial Power

  • All money bills can originate in Parliament only on recommendation of President.
  • No Demand for a grant can be made except on his recommendation.
  • He can make advances out of the Contingency fund of India to meet any unforeseen expenditure.
  • Appoints Finance Commission (after every 5 years) that recommends distribution of taxes between Union & State govt.

 Indian President Judicial Powers

  • The President’s pardoning power comprises a group of analogous power:
    1. Pardon
    2. Reprieve
    3. Remission
    4. respite
    5. Commutation
  • Appoints the Chief Justice and the judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts.

 Indian President Military Power

  • He is the Supreme Commander of the Defense Forces of India.
  • Appoints Chiefs of Army, Navy & Air Force.
  • Declares wars & concludes peace subject to the approval of the Parliament.

 Indian President Diplomatic powers

  • Represents country in international forums.
  • Sends ambassadors & receives diplomats.
  • International treaties & agreements are concluded on his behalf.


lam the creator and editor of Design Shard, I created this blog to post my inspirations, work, and free resources that I hope others find interesting too. See all posts by -- Sourav Mukherjee

Get more important gk topic
in your mailbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

About The Author

Leave a Reply